Dreamscience giving me a hard time

C21 Dreamscience Discussion

Moderator: C21 Dreamscience Dealer

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 39394
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:12 am
Location: Retired
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2006

Re: Dreamscience cable or app problem

Postby P Dubs - C21 » Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:12 am

Jacques2013 wrote:I contacted shaun about 3weeks ago. He treid to help but does not know alor about this package since they never imported it.

Thanks anyway..

UK only way then.
C21 Dreamscience Team - Still The Benchmark
http://www.dsci.co.za
RS = 12.4 sec @ Killarney 2011

BT ST 1km sprint = 279km/h @ ODI 2014
QM = 12.1 @ Killarney - MSA 2013

Image

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience cable or app problem

Postby Jacques2013 » Sat Apr 18, 2015 6:03 pm

Hi P dubs

See comments below from another forum on the net. This is the exact problem I am am having.


FordXR5Turbo.com - The Ford Focus & Mondeo XR5 Turbo Forums
Tuning Houses & Product Developers => Dreamscience Automotive => Topic started by: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 06:17:16 PM

Title: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 06:17:16 PM
Ok maybe one of you guys can give me a hand tell me if I'm doing something wrong. I just received the DSCI tuning platform today and I'm not having any bloody luck with it. So far I have installed the drivers for the cable on two different PCs (Both running Vista), started up the tuning app and when I plug the cable from the car to the pc the app just hangs and goes nowhere, as soon as I unplug the cable it the app runs but once the cable is back in, same issue.... Any ideas?

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: repeat on November 17, 2009, 06:26:55 PM
sorry for asking a **** question but did you follow the instructions on the pdf provided step by step?

are you at the step where you're loading the tune and it tells you to plug the cable into the lap top then the car then when you hit "next" it hangs?

when loading the tune i dont take any chances (only cuz i don't knwo better) but even down to always plugging it into the laptop first then the car.

bit more info would be good

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Zoidy on November 17, 2009, 06:56:39 PM
I think another member had this issue and not plugging the cables in early and plugging them in in the order the instructions tells you to solved the problem

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Dreamscience-Flash on November 17, 2009, 07:08:45 PM
Quote from: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 06:17:16 PM
Ok maybe one of you guys can give me a hand tell me if I'm doing something wrong. I just received the DSCI tuning platform today and I'm not having any bloody luck with it. So far I have installed the drivers for the cable on two different PCs (Both running Vista), started up the tuning app and when I plug the cable from the car to the pc the app just hangs and goes nowhere, as soon as I unplug the cable it the app runs but once the cable is back in, same issue.... Any ideas?

Hi Sir

Sounds like a driver issue or a pc conflict somewhere, please can you e-mail [email protected] he has been briefed and is waiting to help you.

All the best

[email protected]

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: hyperactive on November 17, 2009, 07:25:10 PM
Wow and one wonders why we love DS so much.. the customer service is just exemplary! Well deserved +1 I think..

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: emmanuel on November 17, 2009, 07:43:00 PM
Quote from: hyperactive on November 17, 2009, 07:25:10 PM
Wow and one wonders why we love DS so much.. the customer service is just exemplary! Well deserved +1 I think..
Yes yes, customer service of dreamscience is great! [*cough* freebie cat back exhaust *cough*]

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 08:39:14 PM
Quote from: Dreamscience-Flash on November 17, 2009, 07:08:45 PM
Quote from: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 06:17:16 PM
Ok maybe one of you guys can give me a hand tell me if I'm doing something wrong. I just received the DSCI tuning platform today and I'm not having any bloody luck with it. So far I have installed the drivers for the cable on two different PCs (Both running Vista), started up the tuning app and when I plug the cable from the car to the pc the app just hangs and goes nowhere, as soon as I unplug the cable it the app runs but once the cable is back in, same issue.... Any ideas?

Hi Sir

Sounds like a driver issue or a pc conflict somewhere, please can you e-mail [email protected] he has been briefed and is waiting to help you.

All the best

[email protected]

Hey mate, I've tried two seperate PC's but what I will do is reinstall windows on my laptop so I can eliminate any driver/software issues then if all else fails I will hassle you guys, no point annoying you if the fault is on my end true [email protected]?

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: hyperactive on November 17, 2009, 08:40:56 PM
Just e-mail the guy.. formatting the comp is really a desperate measure.. :o

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Robbo on November 17, 2009, 08:49:40 PM
Wasn't it meant to run from WinXP? Does it run ok on Vista?

Yuk, Vista.....


I reckon a netbook would be great for this :). A little 7 inch eepc you can keep in the glovebox. Access internet at maccas whilst playing with tunes,
or play tunes whilst playing with tunes ;D.

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: mycal666 on November 17, 2009, 09:15:43 PM
Wasnt long ago I think some guys came to the conclusion that Vista was the problem. Robbo has the right idea, thats what I did. Got me a little Eeepc linux based so it was only $350 and used a spare XP key I had laying around and swapped the OS.

And yes it lives my glovebox :thumbsup:

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Dreamscience-Flash on November 17, 2009, 09:39:47 PM
Quote from: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 08:39:14 PM
Quote from: Dreamscience-Flash on November 17, 2009, 07:08:45 PM
Quote from: j0k0 on November 17, 2009, 06:17:16 PM
Ok maybe one of you guys can give me a hand tell me if I'm doing something wrong. I just received the DSCI tuning platform today and I'm not having any bloody luck with it. So far I have installed the drivers for the cable on two different PCs (Both running Vista), started up the tuning app and when I plug the cable from the car to the pc the app just hangs and goes nowhere, as soon as I unplug the cable it the app runs but once the cable is back in, same issue.... Any ideas?

Hi Sir

Sounds like a driver issue or a pc conflict somewhere, please can you e-mail [email protected] he has been briefed and is waiting to help you.

All the best

[email protected]

Hey mate, I've tried two seperate PC's but what I will do is reinstall windows on my laptop so I can eliminate any driver/software issues then if all else fails I will hassle you guys, no point annoying you if the fault is on my end true [email protected]?

Hi Sir

Carl has told me after speaking to you the cable may have a fault, possibly done in transit. Sorry for this, I have already sent you a replacement with DHL and will be with you Friday, i'll pm you the tracking number.

All the best

[email protected]

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Robbo on November 17, 2009, 10:02:11 PM
Jared, will the PC based DS be updated to run with Win7 now that it's out?

Sidestep Vista, but 7 is good :thumbsup:.

A Linux friendly one would be great too. Netbooks and older notebooks run better on it, and they're the kind of PC's you'll find in a car for this purpose, due to dollar value of expensive, nice, new laptops, and thieves about.

I was considering looking at the PC based one myself, but I want to ditch WinXP on my laptop which is a bit old now, and load up gOS Linux. That would run really sweet on it ;).

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Dreamscience-Flash on November 17, 2009, 10:18:33 PM

Hi Rob

Sounds like a question for Adam, [email protected] he is our resident pc geek and has one of those tiny pc's the size of a sat nav running dsci. Windows 7 works with dsci so no worries there. :thumbsup:

All the best

[email protected]

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Robbo on November 17, 2009, 10:21:55 PM
OK, thanks Jared :).

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: kiffsta on November 17, 2009, 10:25:05 PM
by chance are your Vista installations 64 bit ? , someone had a problem with Vista 64 and swapped to a 32bit XP machine and there were no issues ???

just a thought ?

Kiffsta

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: j0k0 on November 18, 2009, 07:06:06 AM
nah kiffsta, I'm running two laptops one is vista which is x86 and the other is windows xp. Even tried bringing my desktop PC downstairs which is also running Vista and had no luck, their technician worked with me over the phone and concluded it was a faulty cable. Would like to say (and make very clear) that the boys at dreamscience are in NO WAY responsible for this, seems to have been bashed around in transit. The dreamscience boys have been the most helpful and delightful group of chaps I have ever dealt with, when I get the cash saved up I will not hesitate to buy the CAI and cooler from them.

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: kiffsta on November 18, 2009, 08:26:20 AM
good to see awesome after sales service from the DS crew

Kiffsta

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: Holes In My Pocket on November 19, 2009, 06:54:18 PM
Fashionably late....

I had the issue with Vista 64bit.
Had to lug my desktop into the garage to get the cable drivers to work (cable lights stayed red=driver not working)

I feel for your troubles j0k0...I spent near 8 hours trying to get it to work!

Good luck with the new cable...hopefully you shouldn't have any issues with 32bit vista, if not XP is the way to go!

Title: Re: Just got the DSCI and I'm getting nowhere with it
Post by: j0k0 on November 20, 2009, 11:35:45 AM
New cable solved all the problems! :thumbsup: Thanks to the blokes at DS, awesome group of lads thanks for all the help guys. Now Race+ :crazyfunny: :crazyfunny: :crazyfunny: :crazyfunny: Safe to run daily? Who cares, it's way to fun to worry about repercussions.


Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby Jacques2013 » Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:08 pm

From reading all the comments and trying my DS again tonight I can see that a lot of guys prefer DS. But if I cant get it to work.. Its worth nothing.. From other forums I found that this might be a obd 2 cable problem, but the cable is more or less 3500 to order from DS in the UK. This is what a Unichip with a Dyno run will cost me here in the Vaal from the guys at AMTEC.

I know a lot of you will hate me for asking this question again, but why not a Unichip Q on a Focus 'ST' 225. My car has a decat downpipe and full exhaust done. When I spoke to the guys at Amtec they said that they tune the car according to your mods on the Dyno. Which sounds good??? :?
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience cable or app problem

Postby Jacques2013 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:59 am

Any suggestions as to where I can get the OBD2 cable repaired or replaced?
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

Another VW Driver
User avatar
Posts: 5425
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:20 am
Make: Me Some Tea
Model: Some Clay
Type: O+
Year: 2015

Re: Dreamscience cable or app problem

Postby PoopandPee » Sun Apr 19, 2015 8:17 am

Are you able to open the cable up yourself or is it a sealed unit on the OBD side
Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

+
User avatar
Posts: 1658
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 4:40 pm
Location: Pretoria?
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2006

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby blue_screen » Sun Apr 19, 2015 9:42 am

Jacques2013 wrote:From reading all the comments and trying my DS again tonight I can see that a lot of guys prefer DS. But if I cant get it to work.. Its worth nothing.. From other forums I found that this might be a obd 2 cable problem, but the cable is more or less 3500 to order from DS in the UK. This is what a Unichip with a Dyno run will cost me here in the Vaal from the guys at AMTEC.

I know a lot of you will hate me for asking this question again, but why not a Unichip Q on a Focus 'ST' 225. My car has a decat downpipe and full exhaust done. When I spoke to the guys at Amtec they said that they tune the car according to your mods on the Dyno. Which sounds good??? :?


Bud, you can choose whoever you want :)
Most of the guys on the forum stick to software brands they know because its tried and tested.

Search the forum for unichip Q, im sure a few people have tried it before. IIRC the guys changed to either a new brand or new car.

Did you PM Timk? he might still have his DSCi for sale, if he has time, he might be able to help you set it up.
I too am one of the countless millions who drew inspiration from Nelson Mandela's life
#Iamoneofthecountlessmillions

CapeSTOwners - My Project Toothless

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 39394
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:12 am
Location: Retired
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2006

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby P Dubs - C21 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 9:56 am

Jacques2013 wrote:It feels like I wasted my money when I bought dreamscience. I am so tired of trying to get it to work that I would go for something else and just forget about this ds. I have +/- 3500 to spend, but do not want to waste my time and money again if something that is not going to work.

Thanks for the advice so far.

That is normally the problem when buying second hand. You don't get the full story of what you buying... Research is key when buying second hand unfortunately. Enquire before you buy maybe? Just saying...
C21 Dreamscience Team - Still The Benchmark
http://www.dsci.co.za
RS = 12.4 sec @ Killarney 2011

BT ST 1km sprint = 279km/h @ ODI 2014
QM = 12.1 @ Killarney - MSA 2013

Image

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 39394
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:12 am
Location: Retired
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2006

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby P Dubs - C21 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 9:58 am

Jacques2013 wrote:From reading all the comments and trying my DS again tonight I can see that a lot of guys prefer DS. But if I cant get it to work.. Its worth nothing.. From other forums I found that this might be a obd 2 cable problem, but the cable is more or less 3500 to order from DS in the UK. This is what a Unichip with a Dyno run will cost me here in the Vaal from the guys at AMTEC.

I know a lot of you will hate me for asking this question again, but why not a Unichip Q on a Focus 'ST' 225. My car has a decat downpipe and full exhaust done. When I spoke to the guys at Amtec they said that they tune the car according to your mods on the Dyno. Which sounds good??? :?

If they can give you what you want, go for it...
C21 Dreamscience Team - Still The Benchmark
http://www.dsci.co.za
RS = 12.4 sec @ Killarney 2011

BT ST 1km sprint = 279km/h @ ODI 2014
QM = 12.1 @ Killarney - MSA 2013

Image

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 39394
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:12 am
Location: Retired
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2006

Re: Dreamscience cable or app problem

Postby P Dubs - C21 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:04 am

Jacques2013 wrote:Any suggestions as to where I can get the OBD2 cable repaired or replaced?

Speak to Shaun. Either he can fix or can order you one.
C21 Dreamscience Team - Still The Benchmark
http://www.dsci.co.za
RS = 12.4 sec @ Killarney 2011

BT ST 1km sprint = 279km/h @ ODI 2014
QM = 12.1 @ Killarney - MSA 2013

Image

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience cable or app problem

Postby Jacques2013 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:39 pm

I can open it if I want to. Only has 4 screws on the head that plugs into the car. I can order a cable throuhg the UK but it's more or less R3700. Dont know if its worh it.
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby Jacques2013 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:46 pm

I would if I knew.. But very two minded about it. All I know is that I want the car ready for the event in 2 weeks. Do not want to go to Midvaal Raceway and allow the same guys to beat me with just a car length again....
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

+
User avatar
Posts: 2106
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:17 am
Location: Greenstone Hill
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST F/L
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby DWJ » Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:31 pm

Hey bud, if its your cable let me know, I have one lying around somewhere, I'm running Revo now...

However as per my profile I'm in Jozi, Edenvale.
Current: 2008 Focus ST Face lift
Ex: 2006 Ford Fiesta 1.6
Image

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby Jacques2013 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:50 pm

Hey DWJ

Thanks...According to DS the cable is linked to your dongle and no other cable can be used, it must be set up according to you dongle code? Do you know if this is treu? Its defnintly the cable
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

+
User avatar
Posts: 2106
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:17 am
Location: Greenstone Hill
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST F/L
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby DWJ » Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:07 pm

Damn dude I have no idea, I thought the dongle was specific and the cable was generic, hence the dongle/key thing you get with...
Current: 2008 Focus ST Face lift
Ex: 2006 Ford Fiesta 1.6
Image

+
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:21 pm
Make: Ford
Model: Focus
Type: ST
Year: 2008

Re: Dreamscience giving me a hard time

Postby Jacques2013 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:23 pm

If you order one over the net they ask you for you dongle code so it must be so... I will ask Jared from ds to confirm.

Thanks for trying, I would have been happy if it could have worked.
Previous cars
Polo GTI 2008 black (Decat & dumpvalve)
Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 white (Head, induction,chip and freeflow)
1989 VW Beetle (twin port and sound as a boost)

PreviousNext

Return to C21 Dreamscience Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests