Fiesta st150 cam issues

Post any performance modifications or questions here

Moderator: Fiesta ST Moderators

-
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:29 pm
Make: Ford Fiesta ST
Model: 2008
Type: ST150
Year: 2008

Fiesta st150 cam issues

Postby Fezza94 » Sat Aug 27, 2016 3:42 pm

Hi,

I recently had 280degree cams installed in my st150 and have been told the cams are no good. Dyno run with my standard cams made 118kW and with the 280degree cams made 114kW.. Also no power in the lower rev ranges..

Apparently they're just '**** cams' but Im struggling to believe it as they cams out of a friends brothers St which worked just fine..

Site Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 41140
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 3:50 pm
Location: Kempton Park
Make: Merc
Model: C63
Type: 507Edition
Year: 2013

Re: Fiesta st150 cam issues

Postby Stu » Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:52 am

my Guess is that they a few mills out on the timing... hence the problem with little or no power increase - where you based ? I would get them fitted properly
Polo20vBIGT
Kia Sportage
Rustler Bakkie
507 Edition C63 - The Dragon
Nissan GTR - The Ninja ( on Its way )
Image

-
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:29 pm
Make: Ford Fiesta ST
Model: 2008
Type: ST150
Year: 2008

Re: Fiesta st150 cam issues

Postby Fezza94 » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:16 pm

Stu wrote:my Guess is that they a few mills out on the timing... hence the problem with little or no power increase - where you based ? I would get them fitted properly


Hi Stu,

Based in Cape town, Had the cams fitted at Dyno Tech - Tuned at MACE.

Went for a second opinion at Koos Swanepoel developments and have since found the car has a few issues. The throttle body isn't opening on occasion, causing a big power drop. They couldn't tell me if it was mechanical or if it was a mapping problem. There is also a slight oil leak that recently popped up.

On the first Dyno run it made 128kW and on the 2nd run it made 110kW due to the tb not opening up. I'm told the motor is going to need some serious tlc before the mapping can be redone.

Car is on 158800km due for a service in the next few days. I guess the cars been through some hard km's and needs some tlc

Site Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 41140
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 3:50 pm
Location: Kempton Park
Make: Merc
Model: C63
Type: 507Edition
Year: 2013

Re: Fiesta st150 cam issues

Postby Stu » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:18 am

the throttle could be map related - what software you running ?
Polo20vBIGT
Kia Sportage
Rustler Bakkie
507 Edition C63 - The Dragon
Nissan GTR - The Ninja ( on Its way )
Image

-
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:29 pm
Make: Ford Fiesta ST
Model: 2008
Type: ST150
Year: 2008

Re: Fiesta st150 cam issues

Postby Fezza94 » Wed Sep 07, 2016 6:28 pm

MACE did a custom tune on it, Apparently allowing for more parameters to be changed. They use alientech to get into the software but the map is sent to someone in Italy who tweeks it, and send it back which is then loaded onto the car. Seems to be quite a mission. I feel like all the issues I'm having is tuning Related, but I'm no mechanic

It allows to rev to about 7200 at the moment. I also feel like the car needs to be tuned badly as it feels so flat in some spots.

Found the source of the oil which was due to a bracket that holds cable being stuck between the tappet cover and head of the motor from when the cams were installed. This could have also affected a few things like pressure loss..

Return to Fiesta ST Performance Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest